Jun 24, 2024  
OHIO University Undergraduate Catalog 2008-09 
OHIO University Undergraduate Catalog 2008-09 [Archived Catalog]

Information and Telecommunication Systems Major (B.S.C.)

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments and Schools

Major code BC5329

Curricula and Requirements

A telecommunication professional is asked to have reasonable familiarity with a number of concerns, both general and technical. The Information and Telecommunication Systems major requires a multidisciplinary approach involving courses in other participating schools and departments, in addition to coursework offered by the School itself.

All majors in the program must earn a grade of C (2.0) or better in ITS 214, 220, 230, and 302. If you earn a grade below C in any of these courses, you will not be permitted to enroll in upper-division ITS courses. Courses may be retaken according to University policy.

Additionally, to remain active in the major, you must maintain a 2.0 average in all required courses, not just in ITS courses.

You are required to complete a secondary area of concentration. Common areas of concentration have included business management, marketing, management information systems, political science, computer science, and communication studies. Other areas are possible as well. You develop your specific secondary area of concentration with your advisor’s approval, after completing ITS 214. Further information is available from the School office.

Each student must complete the core courses, focus-area requirements, and other University requirements.

Requirements are structured to meet simultaneously the University’s General Education requirements and the needs of the major field.

Internship / Practicum

Up to five hours of internship or practicum can be applied to the 18-hour elective requirement.

Non-ITS Required Courses

Computer Literacy (3 or 4 hours)

One of these courses:

Computer Programming (4 or 5 hours)

Other programming courses can be substituted.  See your advisor.

Area of Concentration (20 - 25 hours)

The Area of Concentration is a block of five non-ITS courses, chosen by each student, approved by his/her advisor, to further the student’s specific individual career goals. At least three of the five courses must be at the 300 level or above. Courses identified as part of the area of concentration cannot be used to fulfill any other requirements for the ITS curriculum. Recent student selections have been based on computer science, management, communication studies, international studies, finance, political science, economics, marketing, management information systems, and others.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments and Schools